Skip to content

Clyde Professorship in History


The Aileen H. Clyde Professorship was created in 2018 to award one History professor each year with a research fund to be used to support their own teaching and research, graduate student teaching and research, or other activities that would publicize and maximize the contents of the Clyde Archive at the Marriott Library. This is a competitive faculty award, which requires interested professors to submit an application that is reviewed by the Department of History Executive Committee. The committee selects one award winner per year, and the winner is eligible to receive the Professorship honor no more than two years. The recipient is committed to teach two classes per year that require students to utilize the Archive in their scholarship.

 The inaugural Aileen H. Clyde Professor in History is Colleen McDannell.  Professor Colleen McDannell, who has served two terms as the inaugural Aileen H. Clyde Professor in History, has undergone the intensive undertaking of making the Clyde Archive more accessible to students and researchers, as well as introducing hundreds of students to the incredible resource of the Clyde Archive.

 We invite you to support this important Professorship in honor of Aileen Clyde here.

Past Clyde Archive Students

Students that have worked with the Clyde Archive material share their experiences

Alexander Valeo

Alyse Palsulich

Amberlee Norton

Anna Meredith

Aya Aludjaili

Jaqueline Marroquin

Loulu Saltzman

Matthew Schwartz

Riker Terry

Robert Aldous 

Tyler Wood

Sammy Goldstein




Last Updated: 4/1/21